Premier League side Eleven Wonders have filed official complaint against referee Fredrick Danful for disallowing a goal they scored against Asante Kotoko during their premier league match week 21 fixture last Monday in Tachiman.
Eleven Wonders and league leaders Asante Kotoko drew blank in the crunch game at the Ohene Ameyaw Park on Monday, but the home side had a 31st minute goal disallowed after Assistant referee 1 Fredrick Danful flagged for offside against the Eleven Wonders player who scored the goal, Laar Ibrahim.
The incident happened in the 31st minute of the first half when Eleveon Wonders taken a corner kick into Asante Kotoko goal area, and a player of Wonders headed the ball towards the goal, but his effort was cleared off the goal line by Asante Kotoko goal keeper Kwame Baah before Laar Ibrahim struck the back into the net.
From the footage of the game, it could be seen that before Laar struck the ball into the net, there was one Asante Kotoko player who had been standing on the goal line, who played every other opponent player onside, which seemingly means the goal was a clean one.
However, the goal was ruled out and with the match ending goalless, Eleven Wonders believes the Assistant Referee’s decision changed the results of the game, and have lodged a complaint at the GFA.
A ‘Complaint Against Match Official Form’ filed and signed by Ali Mohammed, Administrative Manager of Eleven Wonders and dated 21st March, 2022 read:
“Assistant line 1 Fredrick Danful denied us a goal scored by our player Laar Ibrahim. The assistant line 1 flaged for an offside of which we believed it was not an offside but rather a clean goal against our opponent”.
It was not stated expressly state what redress Eleven Wonders are seeking, but could obviously be inferred as the Match Review Panel could impose sanctions should the referee be found guilty of the claims of Eleven Wonders.
Watch the said incident in the video below:
Your story seems to draw a conclusion that is a clean goal but you failed to state the other rule that makes it offside.
If you did your research well you would know that when a player is behind the goalkeeper he becomes the goalkeeper and the goal keeper becomes an infield player. This rule tmakes the wonders player offside because he was behind the goalkeeper now infield player at the time of receiving the pass.
Secondly the picture you used is misleading because that was the rebounce and not the one that depicts the offside incident.