UEFA threatens to ban Super League players from Euros & World Cup


UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin has warned clubs and players in the newly formed Super League that they will be banned from European and other competitions including the World Cup.

Twelve clubs, among them six from the Premier League, have decided to join the breakaway league, which will start from the coming season.

Manchester United, Manchester City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Tottenham Hotspur, and Liverpool have been joined by Spanish giants Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Atletico Madrid, with Juventus, Inter, and AC Milan also among them.

Speaking in response to the development, Caferin said they in no way support the move, further calling on the football world to help fight the move.

“The players that will play in the closed league will be banned from playing in the World Cup and Euros,” said the UEFA president in a press conference on Monday. “They will not be allowed to play for their national teams.”

He added: “I cannot stress more strongly at this moment that UEFA and the football world stand united against the disgraceful self-serving proposal by a few clubs motivated by greed and nothing else.”

“We are all united against this nonsense of a project,”

The mentioned clubs have all confirmed their desire to join the league, insisting it’s for the betterment of the beautiful game.

Bayern Munich, PSG, Borussia Dortmund, and FC Porto are among the few clubs that turned down the invitation to join the league.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here